Mansour Barnaoui claims lightweight title at ROAD FC 53

Mansour Barnaoui secured the choke and didn’t let go.

After two year’s of elimination rounds, the ROAD FC $1 Million Lightweight Tournament has come to a dramatic close.

Tournament winner Mansour Barnaoui last night defeated ROAD FC reigning lightweight champion Kwon A-Sol (21-11) by first-round rear-naked choke submission to become the promotion’s lightweight champion and earn the US$1 million prize.

Out of a pool of some 40 competitors, the 26-year-old Frenchman is the last man standing after an incredible run in the tournament which started in July 2017.

Mansour Barnaoui had an incredible run in the 16-man lightweight tourney.

It was a very quick engagement from both men in the clinch with Barnaoui getting the better of it and landing big punches to Kwon’s head until he could drag him down. Barnaoui continued to strike and stuck like glue as Kwon twisted and turtled.

Once he got the back, Barnaoui (19-4) cooly held on to a tight rear-naked choke and extends his unbeaten run with ROAD to six wins.

Aorigele wins slugfest

Openweight sluggers Aorigele and Heo Jae-Hyeok came out of their corners like freight trains crashing.

It wasn’t long before the devastating blow landed and once again Aorigele’s massive fists put away another opponent. Heo was incredibly brave to take the fight on less than a week’s notice.

Openweight sluggers Aorigele and Heo Jae-Hyeok.

Firefighter Shin Dong-Guk blasted in on Hayashi Tamotsu in their rematch and while Hayashi was able to reverse to top position, he took a beating.

When the referee stood them up, it was a gigantic exchange on the feet, and Shin once again walked away with another win by huge TKO.

Yang Ji-Ho and Park Hyung-Geun finally had their match in the cage and they came at each other with heavy striking and grinding clinches. Yang stumbled Park with punches and they each got takedowns in the first round. Yang swung for the fences in the second with sporadic results, but it was enough for him to take the win on the scorecards.

Young Guns 42

In the Young Guns 42 main event, Park Seok-Han and Kubo Kenta traded damaging kicks in the first round and mixed it up in the second. Park turned the tide with a takedown and rear naked choke for the night’s first submission win.

Park Seok-Han seals the deal during Young Guns 42.

Flyweights Go Gi-Won and Hwang Chang-Hwan played an uncharacteristic technical game of tag, but after two penalties, Go picked it up in the second. A knockdown was enough and Go got the UD victory.

In the solo women’s bout of the night, Rowan Pilger worked for submissions on Yang Hee-Jo throughout the match to earn a unanimous decision.

ROAD FC will return

ROAD FC 53 results

Mansour Barnaoui def Kwon A-Sol
Submission (rear naked choke) at 3:44 of R1

Aorigele def Heo Jae-Hyeok
TKO at 0:50 of R1

Shin Dong-Guk def Tamotsu Hayashi
TKO at 2:50 of R1

Featherweight Match
Yang Ji-Ho def Park Hyun-Geun by Unanimous Decision

Kim Tae-In def Lim Dong-Hwan
TKO (strikes) at 0:45 of R1

Young Guns 42

Park Seok-Han def Kubo Kenta
Submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:25 of R2

Go Gi-Won def Hwang Chang-Hwan
Unanimous Decision

Yoon Tae-Young def Lim Byeong-Ha
TKO at 1:27 of R2

Rowan Pilger def Yang Hee-Jo
Unanimous Decision

Shin Ji-Seung def Ji Young-Min
Unanimous Decision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here