ONE Championship 26 imminent, Askren puts WW title on the line against Santos



ONE FC 26 Welterweight title Ben Akren vs Luis Santos
ONE FC 26 Welterweight title Ben Akren vs Luis Santos

ONE Championship returns to Manila, Philippines on April 24, 2015 for “Valor of Champions”. The main event will be Ben Askren’s next defense of his Welterweight title against Luis Santos.

Bellator Champ Askren has continued his onslaught of the welterweights in ONE FC with back to back finishes. The next one in line is “Sapo” Santos, a Brazilian circuit warhorse with his own Bellator appearances. That’s the last semblance of similarity the two fighters possess.

It will be style versus style as the American wrestling Olympian faces a Brazilian striker who owns 35 KOs. Askren is widely regarded as one of the best welterweights in the world, and Santos sits atop the Brazil rankings, so this will have international ramifications. No one has found Askren’s kryptonite yet.

The next high profile bout will be bantamweight standout Mark Striegl taking his first fight under the ONE FC banner against Casey Suire. Striegl is one of the most well-known Asian journeyman who methodically finishes opponents. Striegl’s opponent is Suire, who will be making his third ONE FC appearance. Both of Suire’s ONE FC performances have ended with him winning by choke, and he’s finished all of his five fights.

However, Suire hasn’t yet faced the level of fighters Striegl belongs to.

In a pair of flyweight bouts, entertaining striker Eugene Toquero is back against Brianata Rosadhi and the ever-improving Geje Eustaquio will face Thai transplant Anatpong Bunrad.

Three featherweight bouts feature Kelly brother Edward against undefeated striker Jimmy Yabo; consummate martial artist Shannon Wiratchai versus Singaporean hot prospect Amir Khan; and ONE FC China tournament winner Ya Wei Wang will take on Tsu Notto.

Opening the card at bantamweight, Liu Xiaoyang will face Nicholas Lee.

April 24, 2015
MOA Arena
Manila, Philippines

Welterweight Championship
Ben Askren  vs.  Luis Santos

Mark Striegl  vs.  Casey Suire

Eugene Toquero  vs.  Brianata Rosadhi

Anatpong Bunrad  vs.  Geje Eustaquio

Jimmy Yabo  vs.  Edward Kelly

Shannon Wiratchai  vs.  Amir Khan

Sunoto  vs.  Ya Wei Wang

Liu Xiaoyang vs. Nicholas Lee