ONE FC 12 update: WW contender Kayoom injured, replaced by Vitor Pinto in non-title bout


Screen Shot 2013-11-11 at 10.15.28 AM

In the second title fight to take a hit this year, ONE Fighting Championship has announced that Adam Kayoom is out against Nobutatsu Suzuki for the Welterweight Championship. Instead, the November 15, 2013 main event in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia will be replaced by Suzuki versus Portugal’s Vitor Pinto in a non-title bout. Pinto is another outstanding Brazilin Jiu Jitsu black belt, and his country’s top prospect. Knock out artist Suzuki will have his hands full against a man who will try to get it to the ground and finish it there.

In an additional change, Adriano Moraes will no longer face Josh Paiva, current KOTC Flyweight Champion. Yusup Saadulaev will step back in the cage against Moraes for his fourth bout in ONE FC. After smashing Hideo Tokoro in DREAM, the top wrestling prospect suffered two back-to-back losses in what were very active and exciting fights, then redeemed himself against Ryan Diaz by Brabo choke. Moraes is like kryptonite to Saadulaev: he is finishing prospects left and right in their weakest areas. This last-minute change will be an exciting winner-takes-all match up.

In the final fight announcement, Australia’s Chris Lokteff will face America’s Tony Johnson. Lokteff, of the stellar camp Integrated MMA, has only been defeated once in his entire Australia-based career. The KO artist turned into a grappler in his last two outings by switching his wins up to submissions. Johnson comes from mega-camp AKA and transitioned through KOTC and Bellator before finishing Tim Silvia at ONE FC 9. This is a heavyweight bout with global ranking ramifications.

November 15, 2013
Putra Indoor Stadium
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

#11 Welterweight
Vitor Pinto (7-0) vs Nobutatsu Suzuki (10-1-2)

Adriano Moraes (9-0) vs Yusup Saadulaev (10-3-1)

Bryan Rafiq (8-2) vs Leandro Ataides (5-0)

Chris Lokteff (11-1) vs Tony Johnson (7-1)

Peter Davis (6-3) vs Alaa ‘The Flash’ Mazloum (1-0)

Gianni Subba (2-0) vs Yun Ting Chenn (1-0)

Saiful ‘The Vampire’ Merican (1-1) vs Tok Sophon (1-0)

Melvin ‘Overkill’ Yeoh (7-1) vs A.J. ‘Pyro’ Lias Mansor (1-3)

Samir Mrabet (2-0) vs Steven Durr (1-1)

Nik ‘The Bloodhound’ Harris (4-2) vs Zuli ‘The Shark’ Silawanto (6-6)

Casey Suire (3-0) vs Raymond Tan (2-0)


Comments are closed.