ONE FC 15 – Rise of Heroes: Rey Docyogen to face Josh Alvarez, Folayang returns


By Zike Sugawara


ONE Fighting Championship returns to Manila, Philippines on May 2, 2014 at the Mall of Asia Arena for ONE FC – Rise of Heroes. Headlining the event is a Bantamweight Title showdown between the Grand Prix winner Masakatsu Ueda and the current ONE FC 135 pound champion Bibiano Fernandes.

In the co-main event of the evening, the much-anticipated rematch between “Ruthless” Rob Lisita and “Bancho” Yusuke Kawanago is all set. Both Lisita and Kawanago first met in Hong Kong at Legend FC 10 two years ago in a fight that entertained a lot of fans around the world. Kawanago came out victorious, beating the Austrialian by way of Unanimous Decision.

Another fight confirmed is between Team Lakay’s Rey “The Punisher” Docyogen and Countershot MMA’s Josh Alvarez. Docyogen is coming off a two-fight losing skid against two of the greatest Japanese flyweights today, Shinichi Kojima and Yasuhiro Urushitani. The Team Lakay flyweight standout looks to cement his first ONE FC win by taking on the Filipino American Alvarez. Alvarez made his ONE FC debut last December of 2013 against the very tough Japanese bantamweight fighter Koetsu Okazaki in Manila. He was impressive in the first round, showing his takedown defense and striking skills, but the game has changed in the second round where the Japanese fighter utilized his grappling and sunk in a deep rear naked choke at the 3:13 mark.

Alvarez will go down to the 125 pound limit for this fight and he is going to be a whole new different fighter according to his manager, Lloyd Cubacub, who also confirmed the match, saying, “Josh is training at MMA Lab in Glendale, Arizona for this fight. We will see a more motivated, in shape and mature Josh Alvarez.”

Another Team Lakay fighter who is one of the biggest names in Filipino MMA today, Eduard “Landslide” Folayang, is rumored by several sources to be making his seventh ONE FC appearance on the card.

ONE FC 15: Rise of Heroes
May 2, 2014
MOA Arena
Manila, Philippines

Bantamweight Championship
Bibiano Fernnades vs. Masakatsu Ueda

Rob Lisita vs. Yusuke Kawanago

James Mcsweeny vs. Chris Lokteff

Gianni Subba vs. Eugene Toquero

Jujeath Nagaowa vs. Jeet Toshi

Rey Docyogen vs. Josh Alvarez

Eduard Folayang vs. TBA