PXC 48: results from Aguon vs Dy, Cacdac vs Pitpitunge



PXC 48
PXC 48

PXC 48 will take place on June 13, 2015 in Manila, Philippines. Headlining the promotion’s return to the Philippines are two bouts that went from title fights into non-championship matches due to missed weight by 3 out of 4 fighters.

Bantamweight title holder Kyle Aguon faces Rolando Dy for the second time and will keep his title no matter what as Dy didn’t pass on the second try, while Alvin Cacdac, current PXC Flyweight Champ, will face Crisanto Pitpitunge in a non-title affair since both did not pass.

Aguon and Dy faced each other last October 2014 in Guam for the vacant 135-pound title as the main attraction of PXC 45.The fight lived up to the hype as both fighters exchanged hard shots against each other.

Aguon tagged Dy a couple of times but the Filipino managed to hang on and came back with a huge third-round stand-up beating by serving his Guamanian for with knees and elbows to the face.It was arguably one of the most memorable title fights in PXC history.

Despite of Dy’s rally on the third round, the judges handed the split decision victory to Aguon and became the new bantamweight champ of the PXC. Since then, Dy has been very vocal of his opinion about the outfome of the fight, believing that he won the fight. So he asked for a rematch and got his wish immediately granted by PXC officials.This rematch has fireworks written all over it and both fighters will surely pick up where they left off last year.

Former PXC bantamweight champion Pitpitunge tries to get another title in a different weight category as he challenges Cacdac.  Since losing his bantamweight title to UFC-bound Michinori Tanaka and getting choked out by Han Bin Park, Pitpitunge made a decision to go back to his natural weight class which is at 125 lbs.  The Team Lakay standout met Josh Duenas last June 2014 in Guam and showed a tremendous performance against Saipan’s best flyweight fighter. It was an absolute war that made a lasting impression to PXC fans around the world.

Heavy leathers have been thrown against each other by Pitpitunge and Duenas, showing how tough and excitingfighters they were. After three action-packed rounds, Pitpitunge bagged the unanimous decision victory and got himself back into the winning column as a flyweight.  Pitpitunge then took on the legendary Rambaa Sombdet in Manila at PXC 46 and fought wisely against the muay thai wrecking machine and edged him out via split decision.

On the other hand, Alvin Cacdac makes his first ever title defense after defeating Ernesto Montilla Jr. To become the new PXC flyweight king at last November 2014 in the Philippines. Montilla Jr. came out strong in the early minutes of the very first round, connecting solid jabs to Cacdac’s face. Everything seemed smooth sailing for Montilla Jr. until Cacdac took him down halfway of the opening round. Since then, it was all Cacdac who dominated the fight especially on the ground. Cacdac made Montilla Jr. tap in the third round by way of a rear-naked choke.

Team Lakay’s Harold Banario battles Team Quest Thailand’s Mark Abelardo as one of the featured bouts of PXC 48. Abelardo won his PXC debut in spectacular fashion, showcasing his heavy hands at PXC 46, making quick work of Ernie Braca and made a statement that he is ready to take on anybody in the division. The Filipino-Kiwi is on a roll in his MMA career, winning five straight fights, four of which via KO or TKO. He is a solid finisher and very explosive on his feet.

Abelardo will be tested anew facing Harold Banario, an undefeated fighter with a 4-0 record (2-0 in PXC). He is coming back inside the PXC cage after almost 19 months out of the competition. The Baguio-based fighter has solid takedowns in his arsenal and crafty wushu sanshou striking abilities that could very well match up against Abelardo’s scary punching power.

PXC 48
June 13, 2015
Ynares Sports Arena
Manila, Philippines

Streaming live at https://www.facebook.com/pxcmma/app_142371818162

#8 Flyweight
Crisanto Pitpitunge defeats Alvin Cacdac by KO, rd 3:52

#7 Bantamweight
Kyle Aguon defeats Rolando Dy by Split Decision, 30-27, 28-29, 30-27

#6 Flyweight
Jinel Lausa defeats Ernesto Montilla Jr. via knockout, rd 1, 4:59

#5 Bantamweight
Mark Aberlardo defeats Team Lakay’s Harold Banario via TKO

#4 Bantamweight
Roman Alvarez wins via disqualification due to an illegal kick by Ernie Braca in the 1st round.

#3 Flyweight
Adamson Torbiso wins by knockout in the 1st round

#2 Flyweight
Marcelo Cabusas defeats Mark Alcoba by unanimous decision

#1 Bantamweight
Genil Francisco wins by arm submission in the 1st round