IGF’s first MMA event this weekend, Satoshi defends title against DeFries


Screen Shot 2014-04-03 at 12.26.28 AM

Inoki Genome Federation recently announced a new MMA rules-only league separate from pro-wrestling events. Titled IGF, the league will host its first event on April 4, 2014. As the headliner, Satoshi Ishii will defend his Championship belt against Phil De Fries.

Yusuke Kawaguchi will face Brett Rogers at heavyweight. Kawaguchi, an IGF pro-wrestler, has faced major heavyweight competition around the world from securing the DEEP Megaton Championship to taking on the World’s Strongest Man, Mariusz Pudzianowski, in KSW. He won’t be a pushover for Rogers, who steps back into the ring following a loss to Phil De Fries on the Inoki Bom-ba-ye 2013 New Years card.

Ramazan Esenbaev will meet Yuki Yamamoto at lightweight. Esenbaev was the high-stakes dark horse brought in to face recently crowned DEEP Lightweight Champion Satoru Kitaoka on the New Years card. The Russian felled Kitaoka very early in the second, and will take on his next Japanese opponent as Yamamoto. Yamamoto’s last win was over Toshikatsu Harada, the guy who dared step in the ring with Aoki for the New Years Eve event.

Also on the card, Minowaman will face Goran Olle Ulf, listed by IGF as 7-0, but for whom no Sherdog or Tapology record exists prior to this match up. Guram Gugenishvili will take on Tony ‘The Gun’ Bonello.

April 4, 2014
Ryogoku Kokugikan
Tokyo, Japan

Heavyweight Championship
Satoshi Ishii (11-2-1) vs Philip De Fries (10-3)

Ikuhisa ‘Minowaman’ Minowa (58-35-8) vs Goran ‘Wolf’ Olle Ulf (0-0)

Yusuke “Crusher” Kawaguchi (15-6) vs Brett Rogers (14-6-1)

Ramazan Esenbaev (6-1) vs Yuki Yamamoto (5-5-2-1)

Guram Gugenishvili (11-2) vsTony ‘The Gun’ Bonello (16-2)

Yuki Yamamoto (5-5-2) vs Ramazan Esenbaev (6-1)

Atsushi Sawada (0-1) vs Amaramend ‘Yoshihiro Hoshikaze’ Boldo (0-0)

Shinichi ‘Wakakirin’ Suzukawa (0-1) vs Bob Armstrong (0-0)

Tsuyoshi Kurihara (8-7-2) vs Kyoshiro ‘Dokaben’ Kawada (1-1)

Kazuki ‘Wakamusashi’ Nojiri (1-5-2) vs Yusuke Masuda (3-11-3)