KOTC Philippines full fight card



King Of The Cage brings its Worldwide series to the Philippines on July 5, 2013. Staged in the mammoth Mall of Asia Arena, KOTC breaks into the fight hungry market full force.

KOTC announced its intent to host a card stacked with local talent and two championships. The first is a Middleweight affair between Yusuke Sakashita and Sean Strickland. The reigning and undefeated Strickland will use his superior standing and control game to hold on to his belt against the third contender for it: Sakashita. Sakashita’s conservative schedule has kept him on a winning side in Japan’s sparse higher-weight division in Deep and Cage Force. A late change looks to have replaced fan favorite Lowen Tynanes with Kaleo Kwan against Joe Condon for a non-title affair, which was originally set to be the Junior Welterweight Championship.

KOTC appears to be planning for long term investment on the Philippines MMA scene by snapping up a full card of local fighters and signing them to the promotion for extensive periods. MMAPhil.com, KOTC’s media partner for the Philippines venture, recently quoted KOTC founder Terry Trebilcock as saying “We signed 5-year contracts with all our [Filipino] fighters to give them the exposure they need to become better fighters in the international stage.” Signees include BAMF Muay Thai coach Mike Bunag, boxer Dean Bermudez, fan favorite Alvin Ramirez, and Muay Thai and Sambo champ Francis Curilan.

King Of The Cage Worldwide
July 5, 2013
Mall Of Asia Arena
Manila, Philippines

#11 – Middleweight Championship
Yusuke Sakashita (9-3) (Free) vs Sean Strickland (11-0) (Cquence Jiu-Jitsu)

#10 – Welterweight
Joe Condon (9-5) (Cobra Kai) vs Kaleo Kwan (10-14) (O2 Academy)

#9 – Light Heavyweight
Patrick Dos Santos (Fist Gym/Tiger MMA) vs Jeffrey Torico (Brawl Bataan)

#8 – Featherweight
Winnie Paderna (Elorde Maceda) vs Chow Garcia (Fist Gym/Tiger MMA)

#7 – Welterweight
Reign Sato (Submission Sports) vs Uno Legaspi (Fist Gym/Tiger MMA)

#6 – Flyweight
Genil Francisco (Maic’s Gym) vs Rabin Catalan (2-1) (FTX Gym)

#5 – Featherweight
Mike Bunag (Fist Gym/Tiger MMA) vs JM Figueras (Yaw-Yan Buhawi)

#4 – Bantamweight
Rex Tanduyan (Yaw-Yan Kampilan) vs Dean Bermudez (Safehouse Gym)

#3 – Bantamweight
Ralf Francisco (Real Men Fighters) vs Mickey Ablan (Submission Sports)

#2 – Bantamweight
Carlos Tiongson (0-2) (Submission Sports) vs Fadi Alhamoui (Team Konstrictor)

#1 – Flyweight
Francis Curilan (Legion MMA) vs Alvin Ramirez (5-6) (Yaw-Yan Buhawi)