UFC Manilla officially gets Frankie Edgar vs Urijah Faber, plus Sangcha-an vs Delos Reyes, Li and Zhang

UFC Manila Frankie Edgar vs Urijah Faber
UFC Manila Frankie Edgar vs Urijah Faber

As we first broke the day previously, UFC has officially announced Frankie Edgar versus Urijah Faber as the main event for UFC Fight Night Manila on Fox Sports 1, May 16, 2015.


UFC number one ranked featherweight Edgar is the former three-time defending UFC Lightweight Champion who lost the belt and a subsequent challenge to Benson Henderson, then dropped to featherweight in an immediate title challenge to Jose Aldo. His recent expected title shot rematch with Aldo was broken by the fan favorite Conor McGregor who earned the shot when he defeated Dennis Siver.

Faber, the former 5-time defending WEC Featherweight Champion, has a decade in the sport and is currently number 3 in the UFC’s bantamweight division. The Team Alpha Male founder and TUF 15 Coach, brings a high profile into this Manila match up as he visited the country last March of 2014 for seminars.

The match up was first considered in 2013. It will now take place in the featherweight division and will be a five-round contest.

Edgar’s range give him the edge in the striking, as well as significant take down skills (he was able to get BJ Penn and Aldo to the canvas), not to mention his wrestling. But back to the MMA math, Aldo once stated that Faber was one of the toughest opponents he’d ever faced. Faber’s recent submissions also notch up in his favor


Also announced Wednesday were five more matches. In the first of what is expected to be several Filipinos appearing on the card Roldan Sangcha-an will face John Delos Reyes in the patters first drop to flyweight. Bang Tae-Hyun will face long time PXC compadre Jon Tuck.

Chinese fighters feature heavily as TUF China winner Zhang Lipeng will face Bang’s last opponent, fellow TUF vet Kajan Johnson. Stand out Li Jingliang will face TUF 19 vet Roger Zapata. Prospect Yau Zhikui will meet Nolan Ticman.


UFC Fight Night Manila
May 16, 2015
MOA Arena
Manila, Philippines

Tae-Hyun Bang vs Jon Tuck

Zhang Lipeng vs Kajan Johnson

Yao Zhikui vs Nolan Ticman

Roldan Sangcha-an vs Jon Delos Reyes

Li Jingliang vs Roger Zapata